If you build it, will they come?

This is my Lightning Talk for CPPCON 2020. I’m super grateful to Chris Ryan for posting it on LinkedIn.

Quality C++ documentation is abundant…as long as it is in English. If you’re a Spanish speaker your options are limited. This talk is about my experience in bringing es.cppreference.com, the Spanish companion site to cppreference.com, up to date to enable Spanish-speaking C++ lovers and enthusiasts a quality experience when learning C++…en español.

Many years ago I read a follow-up book to the seminal Design Patterns book by The GoF, called Pattern Hatching: Design Patterns Applied by John Vlissides. He kept a homonymous monthly column in C++ Report, a magazine now defunct. One of the things that called my attention is that he mentioned that keeping on with design patterns was a labor of love.

Before his passing, he was kind enough to review an article that I intended to publish on Pluggable Factory and gave me very valuable feedback, as well as feedback on using the nifty counter technique–originally in the C++ ARM and then in John Lakos‘ book, Large Scale C++ (first edition)–to implement a variation of Singleton.

To me, John was an inspiring figure to give to the community without expecting anything in return, and hopefully the effort of translating C++ documentation to Spanish will enable others to learn and love this programming language that has given me so much.

So John, this is my labor of love.

This entry was posted in software. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment